A while back, I admitted to a few blog readers on twitter my little disappointment: that I am not going to be able to go to NYC to see Love, Love, Love.

When the announcement of Armitage’s casting was official, I spent three days running the numbers in my head. But I just couldn’t make them work out. The expense to send even just me was going to cut too deeply into the savings that my husband and I have squirreled away. We’ve just paid off our wedding and we have other financial goals in the works for the next year. And I have a fringe festival to produce – September through November being major strategic planning times for that event.

file_000

So, I let out a big *le sigh*, and contented myself with purchasing tickets to two shows at the American Conservatory Theater in San Francisco that I want to see this year:  Mike Bartlett’s King Charles III (getting some Bartlett in this weekend, anyway) and Annie Baker’s John. That was my little consolation prize.

Grown-Up Fangirl Skill: Remembering when your real-life objectives take precedence. . . and being happy about being in love with a terrific man who is a great partner in life.

When the idea came to me to write a blog series speculating on what might be happening in each rehearsal phase and explaining some of the behind the scenes work that happens for actors, it became my little way of being involved in Love, Love, Love since I couldn’t be in the room for a performance. In a way, I hoped to imaginatively project myself there.  This is something I do often as a fangirl: imagine what I might see if I were a fly on the wall that day.

Overall, I’ve been happy that I took the leap. Many readers have said that they’ve enjoyed the glimpse into the acting process, something they knew little about before.  I hope that a few little nuggets work their way into some fans’ minds so that when they see a performance they like, they might understand a little better what it took to create it.

Grown-Up Fangirl Skill: Discovering unique ways to be “a part of it all” in ways that are meaningful to me

A few very, very kind fans have expressed that they would have liked to have read my review of Love, Love, Love.  I think that’s very kind and I was flattered to hear it. I will undoubtedly miss writing the review when I begin to read other fans’ experiences.

But, I’d like to posit this:  It may be an advantage for me to be able to leave off reviewing the play.  My theater friends and I often say that when it comes to evaluating the work, “we can be picky bitches”.  I suspect I’d be in such a thrilled state to see Armitage act live that my critical nature would soften a bit.  But still. . . there’s a part of me that would rather imagine my way through creating the work parallel to Armitage, cast and crew, than sit at the end of that process and have to judge it. There may be something to just sending it out into the world along with the cast, and then just letting it be.

I think what I’ll do instead is post reviews from various sources. The major news outlets, of course, and maybe a few fan reviews that I find notable. But perhaps also the reviews of some theater bloggers and podcasters I follow, if any of them cover the show (I think a few will).

So, there it is. . . *le sigh* she exhales wistfully, looking off into the distance. 

What I will write about after this is anyone’s guess, but I will look forward to the adventure! There will be plenty of Armitage topics to choose from, one hopes!

 

